Now accepting nominations for the 2017 G. Arthur Martin Criminal Justice Medal

The Criminal Lawyers’ Association is now accepting nominations for the 2017 G. Arthur Martin Criminal Justice Meda

Annually the association presents the G. Arthur Martin Criminal Justice Medal for outstanding contribution to criminal justice. G. Arthur Martin was Canada’s greatest criminal advocate before he became a leading jurist with the Ontario Court of Appeal. The award was first awarded in 1989 and has been awarded annually since. One of the medals has been mounted on a wooden base and is housed permanently in the G. Arthur Martin Room at Osgoode Hall. Annually a brass plaque is attached to the base to indicate the new recipient. A list of previous recipients can be viewed by going to https://criminallawyers.ca/about-us/awards/.

Recipient Criterion:

The award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to criminal justice in Canada. Nominations are open to any individual properly nominated.

Nomination Process:

  • The nominator must be an active full member of the Criminal Lawyers’ Association at the time the nomination is submitted.
  • The nominator will coordinate and submit a nomination package that must include:
    1. A formal nomination letter. The letter of nomination will specifically state why the nominee is deserving of the award by providing evidence for how the individual has made significant contributions to criminal justice in Canada. Sufficient detail should be supplied to assist the Award Selection Committee deliberations.
    2. A curriculum vitae or resume of the nominee.
    3. Three (and only three) letters of support from individuals familiar with the nominee’s contributions.
  • Nominations are to be submitted in English.
  • Nominations will be held in confidence. The nominee is not required to be notified of the nomination.
  • Only nominations submitted in accordance with the aforementioned criteria will be accepted.
  • Nominations are due on March 31, 2017 at 5pm EST at the Association Offices addressed to:
    1. Anthony Laycock, Executive Director, Criminal Lawyers’ Association, 189 Queen Street East, Suite 1, Toronto ON M5A 1S2 (For couriers please include: “Buzzer 11” in the address)

Award Selection Committee:

The Awards Selection Committee is comprised of the following four persons: The President of the Criminal Lawyers’ Association, the current Chief Justice of Ontario (or their designate), a prominent criminal law academic nominated and approved by the Governing Body, and a member of the community nominated and approved by the Governing Body.

The Award Selection Committee will review all complete nomination packages and make a selection. The nominator and winner will be notified before May 31st. There will only be one winner per year.

Re-Submission of Nomination Packages:

The Association appreciates what is involved in submitting a nomination and would like to keep nominations on file for future consideration. By keeping nominations it ensures that the largest possible pool of persons is considered. This can only add to the quality of the person ultimately chosen and the stature of the award itself. For nomination packages received for which the nominee was not selected as the award winner:

  • The nominator will be contacted and asked if the CLA can keep the nomination on file. If approved:
    1. The nomination will be kept on file, annually upon issuing the call for nominations, the nominator will be invited to update their nomination package, if so desired.
    2. The nominator must still be an active CLA member for the package to be reconsidered.
    3. Nominations will be held for a five-year period, after which a new package will be required if the candidate is to be consider.

Presentation of the Award:

The award is presented annually at the Criminal Lawyers’ Association fall conference. The winner will be asked to attend to receive the award. There is no monetary value to this award. The 2017 Award Presentation will take place on Saturday October 28, 2017.

One response to “Now accepting nominations for the 2017 G. Arthur Martin Criminal Justice Medal”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.